I’m headed off to Hollywood! My picks for TCMFF

It’s been a long time in the making but this time next week I will be in Hollywood for my first ever Turner Classic Movies Film Festival! To say I’m excited doesn’t even do all of the emotions I’m feeling justice. It’s been a dream of mine to attend ever since I heard the first one was announced. Not only will I be attending but I’ll be taking you along for the ride covering the event here on my blog and on social media. I’m really excited to meet so many people and geek out over classic cinema.

TCMFFplans

My plans laid out for the TCMFF

My journey will begin with some media events that include a press conference on the day preceding the event and the TCM classic movie locations tour bright and early on the first day of the festival. The festival begins Thursday, April 6th. It’s dedicated to the late Robert Osborne and TCM staffers will share their memories of him at a special event called Remembering Robert that will be sure to draw tears but more importantly allow fans to gather to celebrate the life of a man who gave us so much.

To pay homage to Cameron at Blonde at the Film, to the films!

Thursday will be a light day for me. I plan to attend either the 6 PM screening of the William Powell-Myrna Loy comedy Love Crazy or the nitrate presentation of Hitchcock’s 1939 The Man Who Knew Too Much. 

Here comes Friday, the first full day of films!

allabouteve.gif

I expected all of the films to just be comedies so I was bracing for Abbott and Costello and Martin and Lewis films but to my delight TCM added musicals, dramas, and other titles with categories such as The Essentials, taking a nod from their popular franchise to mix up the lineup. I love this choice as I am someone who likes variety. I will start the day off with the John Huston cult classic Beat the Devil. This film has fascinated and eluded me for years. Finding it on some form of dvd that isn’t a terrible transfer is hard enough so I can’t pass up the opportunity to see it in a theater. The tough decision is that this forbids me to see one of the three William Holden films being shown at the festival. Yes, I am cheating on my classic movie husband with Jennifer Jones and Humphrey Bogart, two costars of his that famously did not get along with him during the productions of Love is a Many-Splendored Thing and Sabrina respectively. I think somewhere Bill will forgive me. After Beat the Devil, I will take in the Marx Brothers classic Monkey Business. I’ve never seen this film and I feel like at a festival honoring comedy, seeing a Marx Brothers film is a must. At 5 PM I have a makeup date with Bill at the screening of The Bridge on the River Kwai. I can not wait to see this David Lean epic the way it was meant to be seen! If you’ve been following news of the festival you know the evening of Friday has the toughest choices! A screening of High Anxiety with Mel Brooks in attendance, Laura on nitrate, Cat People, Twentieth Century and Those Redheads from Seattle. For me it comes down to High Anxiety and Laura. This is so tough because I’m a Mel Brooks fan but I also LOVE Laura. Laura, to me, is the definitive film that made me fall in love with classic cinema. It’s probably my favorite of all time and I’ve never seen it on the big screen! But I know there will be opportunities to see it some form on the big screen with Noir City festivals and the fact that I have resources to theaters that show classic films so I have to go with Mr. Brooks. Seeing him in person is something I know I won’t have the opportunity to do again so I must take the chance. After that, I’ll see Zardoz at midnight because how can anyone pass up the chance to watch Sean Connery in whatever this is below?

connery_zardoz

To Saturday! Saturday morning is another tough spot but I’m going with my love of William Holden and checking out Stalag 17. I’ve never seen this film on the big screen and have seen Arsenic and Old Lace. The other choice that I considered was This is Cinerama but unfortunately I don’t do very well with giant immersive screens so Bill it is. After that I’m headed to Club TCM to take in the presentation of The Art of Subtitling and then I’ll stay there for A Conversation with Lee Grant. I’ll round out the evening with Best in Show and Black Narcissus. I’ve never seen Black Narcissus ever so I am elated that my first time will be in nitrate.

And just like that the festival is almost over on Sunday. 😦 What? I thought we just got started?!?! A lot of Sunday is still up in the air due to TBA screenings. Who knows maybe they’ll bring Laura back? A girl can dream! I’m starting my Sunday a little bit later with A Conversation with Leonard Maltin at Club TCM. Maltin is one of my film heroes so I hope I’m able to snag a good seat for this presentation. After that I’ll head to The Palm Beach Story, one of my favorite comedies of all time. Then it’s off to a tribute to Debbie Reynolds with Singin’ in the Rain introduced by her son, Todd Fisher and then I’ll end TCMFF with The Lady in the Dark, a musical starring Ginger Rogers and Ray Milland on nitrate. The Major and the Minor is one of my favorite films so I look forward to seeing their second pairing.

And that’s a wrap! WOW! I can’t wait for my first TCM Film Festival experience. If you’ve been before and have any tips, please feel free to share them in the comments! I look forward to meet you all in Hollywood! Also, a few PSA’s, TCM has created a special app for the event that you can download on both iTunes and Google Play and if you want a printable version of the schedule, the fabulous Kate Gabrielle has created one here.

Want to see where your other favorite bloggers will be? Check out their picks below:

Journeys in Classic Film

Cinema Crossroads

Once Upon A Screen

Silents and Talkies’ guide to rarities at the TCM Film Festival

Silents and Talkies: My TCMFF Schedule

The Nitrate Diva’s picks via Periscope

Out of the Past

Joel’s Classic Film Passion

Pre-Code.com

Backlots

Christy’s Inkwells

Blog of the Darned

I See A Dark Theater

Thirty Hertz Rumble

The Hollywood Revue

4 thoughts on “I’m headed off to Hollywood! My picks for TCMFF

Leave a Reply

