This incredible auction is a film lover’s dream

Any classic Hollywood fan understands that our connection with these stars, films, and creatives is beyond a simple piece of art. I grew up in Orlando, Florida which is known internationally as the home of Disney World. Disney World is a home-away-from-home for me. My father worked there for years. My favorite park is Disney’s Hollywood Studios. Back when it was known as MGM, it was a treasure trove of classic Hollywood memorabilia.

When I would cross the turnstiles to enter the park, I would make my way left straight to a shop that was filled with autographs and props from the Hollywood I love. Unfortunately that shop is no longer standing and I’m sad that I could never afford a piece of Hollywood history but these days it’s being made easier to bid on collectibles. The online auction house, Invaluable, is in the middle of a huge auction featuring many classic Hollywood items. There’s a range of items of such such legendary talents as Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Audrey Hepburn, and Lucille Ball but you can also find valuables showcasing contemporary classics like the Indiana Jones series, Back to the Future, and Star Wars.

Below are some of my favorite lots still up for grabs:

Audrey Hepburn with swatch worn by her

One of my goals in life is to own something from Audrey Hepburn. I just adore her. There is something about one of her personal items that just brings me closer to her. I know she was a very private person and probably wouldn’t like that sort of attention but it would be a reminder of her as a person and to make me strive to be the kind of person she was.

Engraved Marlon Brando Signature with real swatch of clothing

Marlon Brando. Enough said.

Marty McFly overboard from Back to the Future II

Everyone seems to make these for Halloween but what about having the real thing?? AWESOME!

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade revolver

How cool is that?

Lucille Ball signature ‘I Love Lucy’ polka dot dress

An incredible find! This is the most iconic piece of clothing she ever wore in the long running series.

Stars Wars original script signed by George Lucas

The holy grail. I can’t imagine the notes in this and having this in one’s hand not knowing how this would change the course of Hollywood filmmaking and marketing forever.

Various My Fair Lady lots:
Embassy ball gown costume 

Royal Ascot flowered hat

I just can’t imagine owning a creation from a Hollywood masterpiece.

Costumes from the film, Selena

Black ruffle costume

Ivory performance gown costume

Cow print ensemble

It’s not necessarily the classic I typically write about but I’m a Latina and Selena Quintanilla and Jennifer Lopez are two of my heroes. The biopic Selena did so much to honor her memory and bring her into mainstream American homes. These three are some of Selena’s iconic looks and although they are replicas for her film, that doesn’t diminish how special these are to Latino history.

There are countless of other items you can take a look at. Even if you might not have the cash to shell out for pieces of Hollywood history, skimming through the website is enough in itself. I’m not a collector but looking through the lots made me a bit emotional. It breaks the fourth wall and reminds you that there were people behind the images and iconic motion pictures you know and love. It makes you appreciate their craft and their work ethic that much more.

It’s extremely important that these pieces are preserved and are taken into homes that will treat them well. We must never forget our history.

The Invaluable Hollywood Auction 83 by Profiles in History ends today, July 1st. View all of the items here.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

